My Open Letter to Carmelo Anthony: By @ProfessorCorria

Dear Carmelo Anthony,

What up homie, how’s La La and the rest of the family? Sore subject? My bad bruh. Anyway, I’ve been watching you play all season, and you’ve been playing extremely well. ? But I’m writing this letter to you after watching you play game 4 against the Indiana Pacers, and after seeing the downtrodden look on your face after the game I’m very concerned about you my dude. First off, how does it feel to be playing at “home”, even though West Baltimore doesn’t have a team? We know you have the skill and physical tools to be a winner in the league, but something is missing my dude. I can’t quite put my finger on it. Your about to be 29 at the end of May meaning this is your athletic prime, so if not now, then when. You had a pretty good situation in Denver with that deep and talented team that almost made the finals, so I’m not really sure why you were in such a rush to leave? Oh yeah my bad I forgot La La made you, but that’s neither here nor there, you’re in New York now for better or worse. Yeah I know that whole Amare situation is kind of wack, they might as well send that boy to the glue factory, because he’s on the other side of the mountain. Oh damn homie I just looked, the team owes him $21.7 million next year and $23.4 million the year after? YIKES. It’s all good though, maybe some dumb GM will take him off y’all hands this summer or you can opt out of your deal next summer. Damn, you guys are capped out for the next two years, I just checked, man I’m starting to get depressed just thinking about it.

carmelo3

        Melo if you listen to anything I say to you, please listen to this, you have to really get in shape this summer. You gotta lose 1 or 2 of those extra chins you got so you can start playing some defense. I know the media bought the line this year that, “you’re playing defense this year”, but we watch the games, you don’t play defense. You can score, that’s for sure, but you really don’t do much else. So this summer stay away from LaLa’s pancakes and get in the gym for some double sessions with Tim Grover so you don’t look like a Twinkie when you guys wear your home whites. You gotta become a better all-around player 2 assits a game won’t cut it anymore bro, besides you don’t want young boys like KD, Steph and Russy passing you by, if they haven’t already.

carmelo2

        So what’s it gonna be big homie? You gonna come back next year having added to your game, or are you gonna be the same player that you’ve been since you were 23? Or are u gonna let LeBron turn you into the 2013-2014 version of Karl Malone and Charles Barkley? I know your team isn’t that great but neither were the 2011 Dallas Mavericks or the 2007 Cleveland Cavaliers and they got the finals. You want to silence the “haters”? All you have to do is win. That is the only thing that will save you. I mean you’re the one that wanted to play for the Knicks, what did you think was going to happen in the largest media market in the free world? Numbers and individual accomplishments won’t save you, trust me. Michael, Shaq, Kobe and LeBron have all dealt with the burden of being expected to win a championship, so the question is do you want a seat at that table? Or are you content with being known simply as a scorer. Yeah I know you won a national title in college, but that doesn’t matter much now does it?  The time is now my dude, you’re in your prime, you have a decent supporting cast around you, you don’t want to get lapped by the Heat, Pacers and Bulls. I believe you can do it, but how badly do you really want it? I’m going to leave you with this quote from Tim Grover, “Skill can make you look really good when nothing is on the line. But without mental intensity and physical commitment, your skill won’t be enough when everything is on the line.”

Sincerely,

Your Boy Josh

Leave a Reply

